Ryuichi Sakamoto Scores New “Black Mirror” Episode, Shares Song: Listen


The fifth season of “Black Mirror” premieres on Netflix on June 5. One of the new episodes, “Smithereens,” was scored by Japanese composer Ryuichi Sakamoto. On June 7, Milan Records will release the digital edition of Sakamoto’s score. (A vinyl edition is set to come out at a later date.) Below, hear “this is my last day” from the soundtrack.

“Smithereens” was directed by James Hawes and stars Andrew Scott, Damson Idris, and Topher Grace. Netflix shared the following synopsis of the episode: “A cab driver with an agenda becomes the centre of attention on a day that rapidly spirals out of control.”

Ryuichi Sakamoto’s last studio album, async, arrived in April 2017. Last year, he and Alva Noto released an improvisational live album called Glass.

Black Mirror: Smithereens:

01 meditation
02 plot
03 this is my last day
04 hayley
05 prey
06 chain smoking addict
07 chase
08 reverse surface
09 closing in
10 countdown
11 retreat
12 flashback
13 gun is real
14 shot
15 degrade
16 car crash
17 this is my last day
18 memory of a single moment
19 release

Source link